A friend of mine asked me to backup his ps3's data into a new HDD. I thought i could just do it with my ps3 at home, but aparently the data is encripted for each ps3. When i hooked it up to mine I got a black screen saying that it was not possible to run the system software and that i would have to format it.
I DID NOT PROCEED WITH THE FORMATING. however i am very afraid that the data could be lost when i return it to my friend.
Could anyone tell me if just installing the HDD into a different ps3 could erase the data or result in any kind of problem when putting it back to the previous console??