Hey there.

So... you use an ad blocker. That's cool. Sometimes we do too.

But without ad revenue, we wouldn't even be here. And we might not be here much longer.

Please disable your ad blocker and click to continue.

PS3 randomly RSOD'd help?

Turned it own today and got a RSOD. Tried reinstalling Rebug 3.55.2, no luck, I managed to reinstall the CFW but still got RSOD. The last thing I did on my PS3 was put Portal 2 in it using FTP, 2 days ago. The game worked fine with the eboot fix, I played it for a few hours.

Any idea of what happened or how to fix it?

Its a PS3 Slim and I've been using it for 2 years.

try replace it with a working hard drive, see if it works.

I have a friend with a PS3 on FW 4.21, If I borrow his HD, I can just format it and use it on my PS3 right? If that doesn't work, any other idea? Is there a chance my PS3 got bricked beyond repair?

Assuming the HDD thing doesn't work, I would like to try this RSOD Fix:
    • Copy the .self in this release to the root of a USB flash drive.
    • Rename the file to Lv2diag.self.
    • Place the flash drive in the right most USB port.
    • Toggle FSM.
    • Boot PS3
    • During FSM boot, the Lv2diag.self will execute.

Is there actually any method of getting into FSM on a RSOD PS3?

You can use any sata laptop hard drive. The ps3 will format the hard drive for you.

If the HDD swap doesn't work for you, try searching for FactoryServiceMode_Lv2diag_RSOD.rar. You should find the archive (or file) and instructions on how to use it. This is said to be the best and safest way to fix a RSOD PS3 (as far as I know), but it didn't work for me. I ended up using 355-NOTHEROS-RSOD.PUP and rsodfix.gnpdrm.pkg, which I read should not be used because there is a high chance of perma-bricking your console. Read up on that and if you do decide to try it, do it as a last resort.

This is what I did.

1. Installed 355-NOTHEROS-RSOD.PUP from the RECOVERY MENU.
    2. Installed rsodfix.gnpdrm.pkg from XMB.