Hey there.

So... you use an ad blocker. That's cool. Sometimes we do too.


But without ad revenue, we wouldn't even be here. And we might not be here much longer.

Please disable your ad blocker and click to continue.

Page 4 of 84 First ... 3451454 ... Last
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by gore fiend View Post
    i heard you don't need linux on ps3, just on pc. could be wrong
    That's what I was asking. Cause ever since I got my new 160GB HDD for my PS3, I haven't re-installed linux. If that is the case, I will go ahead and re-install it, I've just been too lazy lol

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    40
    Hmm, if it's just hex editing a firmware update file or something, why would Windows or Linux make a difference? There must be more to it... can't wait til the tutorial's here

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    19
    Holy crap! This is totally awesome. I've kept my PS3 at 1.10 firmware. So this is most excellent news.

    PS3news - Thanks for the scoop on this scene rocking exploit !!

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    LOL. Mine is still at 1.00.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    24,831
    1.00 is fine though... it is supported by this as well so nice @ you're holding out (mine is at 1.10)!

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2
    But if it involves using a PC with Linux to hex edit a firmware - we only need 1 person to hex the file - and then share the hexed firmware out to everyone....

    I am sure that is what will happen - there will be ways to get the firmware.


    I am curious though - I guess you can only use a hexed version of the firmware # you already have on your PS3?

    If I have v 1.32 - then can i only use v 1.32 for this firmware check bypass?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    24,831
    Ya, sadly the video is kinda worthless and a rush job... the Tutorial is really the important part though so don't worry.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    21
    So Linux has to be installed on your PS3 to make this bypass work?

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,254
    Ok Ok, I blame PS3News, thats the only video that was half clear, send your letters to him!

    Furthermore - Linux on the PS3 - NO, you need a LINUX PC atm. This has NOTHING to do with changed firmwares, (although it can in the future w/ some smart hackers!)

    Just read the tutorial (uploading in a few minutes) , if you have any more questions, post em!

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    21
    Damn gotta have a linux pc... figures something i don't have... lol

Page 4 of 84 First ... 3451454 ... Last

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in