Sony Entertainment Network Marketing Manager Jeff Safran is here with the new Music and Video Unlimited releases for this weekend today as outlined below!

To quote: This week, the Music Unlimited service features new releases from Passion Pit, The Gaslight Anthem, and Jennifer Lopez, as well as new albums from artists including Slipknot, Love and Theft, Rodriguez, The Jacka, Eternal Summers, and Reks. Also this week, check out the new Zac Brown Band - Artist Picks Premium Channel!

In celebration of their latest album Uncaged, Zac and the band have compiled an eclectic list, including many of their hit tracks alongside favorite songs ranging all the way from Bonnie Raitt to Jay-Z. You can hear the whole thing now in the premium channels section of the Music Unlimited service.

On the video side, we're helping you celebrate the 25th year of Shark Week by bringing you up close and personal to the ocean's deadliest predators through the Shark Week Sale on the Video Unlimited service!

Now through August 20, download and enjoy past Discovery Channel episodes for $0.99 in SD, and $1.99 in HD (US and Canada), as well as other jaw-dropping shark movies for just $4.99 SD (US only).

Also, catch the sharks in action by customizing your PS3 with the official Shark Week dynamic theme! For a limited time, this theme is yours for just $1.99. Get all the details here.

Featured New Releases:

Passion Pit - Gossamer

The drip, drip, drip of the flood of electronic music seeping its way into the mainstream has been growing steady recently. Music fans and critics alike have been trying to decipher between the subcultures, but one band that set the bar for this long ago was Passion Pit.

Their infectious brand of dance made a massive impact after the release of their 2009 album, "Manners," and now that they've kicked down the door, they're setting up house with "Gossamer." There are so many "a-ha!" moments seeded throughout as some of the epic hugeness of "Manners" is transformed into some serious strategic hooks.

An impressively diverse collection of songs really settles down the hysteria of the "newness" of their sound and solidifies their prowess as songwriters and storytellers.

If You Like: Broken Bells, Phoenix, Foster the People
Recommended Track: "Hideaway"

The Gaslight Anthem - Handwritten

Despite trying to stray from the obvious path of speaking to the Bruce Springesteen-esque qualities of a band like Gaslight Anthem, it's almost impossible when speaking to their new record, "Handwritten."

Although also hailing from New Jersey and with the blessing of The Boss himself (who has joined the band on stage a few times), this new album gives the band the opportunity to stand on their own with some downright merciless rock tracks pushing through, kicking off with the first single and first track, "45," whose video features the band playing a hometown show in Asbury Park, juxtaposing these hometown heroes against their tremendous potential for major success.

If You Like: Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, Japandroids
Recommended Track: "Keepsake"

Jennifer Lopez - Dance Again... The Hits

For someone as omnipresent as Jennifer Lopez, the logic of the "triple threat" is almost extended for this singer/dancer/actress/former TV judge/businesswoman/fashion icon.

It's possible to take for granted the impact she's made on pop culture the last few years since she is always in our sight, but when seeing the list of hits compiled in, "Dance Again..." the breadth of her career becomes even more overwhelmingly impressive.

From "Jenny from the Block," to "If You Had My Love," to the new title track, "Dance Again (ft. Pitbull)" her first greatest hits brings a whole new meaning to "greatest."

If You Like: Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, Janet Jackson
Recommended Track: "Dance Again (ft. Pitbull)"

Other Featured Albums Available This Week 7/24/12:

• Slipknot - Antennas To Hell
• Love and Theft - Love and Theft
• Rodriguez - Searching For Sugar Man
• The Jacka - The Jacka Presents Artist Records
• Eternal Summers - Correct Behavior
• Reks - REBELutionary

Coming Up Next Week 7/31/12:

• Rick Ross - God Forgives, I Don't
• Pitbull - I Am Armando
• Various Artists - Sparkle: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
• Various Artists - Step Up 4: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
• Rob Zombie - Mondo SexHead
• Joshua Radin - Underwater
• Reel Big Fish - Candy Coated Fury
• Joss Stone - The Soul Sessions Vo. 2
• VersaEmerge - Another Atmosphere Preview
• Gloriana - A Thousand Miles Left Behind
• Necro - The Murder Murder Kill Kill Double EP
• Various Artists - Subliminal 2012 Mixed by Erick Morillo and SYMPHO NYMPHO
• The Locust - Molecular Genetics From the Gold Standard
• Julio Reyes - No Inventes
• Thenewno2 - Thefearofmissiongout
• Kany Garcia - Kany Garcia
• A Bullet For Pretty Boy - Symbosis
• Toadies - Play.Rock.Music
• Ice Choir - Afar
• Crucified Barbara - The Midnight Chase

[imglink=|New Sony Music and Video Unlimited Releases for July 27, 2012][/imglink]
More PlayStation 3 News...