Sony Entertainment Network Marketing Manager Jeff Safran is here with this weekend's new Music and Video Unlimited releases today, as follows:

This week, the Music Unlimited service features new releases including Trey Songz, The Darkness, and Bloc Party, as well as new albums from Dispatch, DJ Khaled, Minus the Bear, Blake Shelton, and Passenger.

Also, we recently launch our Frenchkiss Records Premium Channel, featuring artists such as Local Natives, The Hold Steady, The Antlers and one of today's featured new releases, Bloc Party. You can find it now in the Premium Channels section of the Music Unlimited service.

Featured New Releases

Trey Songz - Chapter V

Trey Songz has kept a consistent beat on the R&B music scene, wetting our appetites between full-lengths with the EP, "Inevitable" and appearing on songs with Lupe Fiasoc, J. Cole, Meek Mill and Waka Flocka Flame, to name a few.

The influence of some of these collaborations must have inspired Trey to brach out even further on this album, with more co-written tracks than ever before, alongside the likes of Lil Wayne, Rick Ross and more.

In a music industry that is "every man for himself," sometimes, Trey Songz embraces the community he is a part of and creating a unique sound that woven together will surprise and invigorate fans.
If You Like: Usher, Chris Brown, Ne-Yo
Recommended Track: "Check Me Out" (ft. Diddy & Meek Mill)"

The Darkness - Hot Cakes

2012 feels like a banner year for bands coming out of hiatus, such as No Doubt, Dispatch and more jumping back into the game and experiencing the new music industry and new ways to engage with fans.

One such band is The Darkness, who took the rock world by storm with their glamorous, over-the-top performances and relentless songs that echoed the excess of the 80s hair metal days.

After a seven-year silence, they return with "Hot Cakes," a strategically focused and aesthetically deliberate effort that reflects The old Darkness we met in 2003 and the new Darkness who is focused on fun, rock and popular breakfast items.
If You Like: KISS, Tenacious D, Alice Cooper
Recommended Track: "She's Just a Girl, Eddie"

Bloc Party - Four

The members of Bloc Party captivated the indie rock world with their 2005 debut, Silent Alarm, with their formula of frantic instrumentation over the smoothness of singer Kele Okereke's booming and melodic voice.

The dichotomy of these two sounds made sense together, but also made sense apart, as Okereke explored a more electronic solo album and bassist Gordon Moakes opted for heavier guitars and swirling melodies in Young Legionnaire.

Four years since their last record, they bring their musical nuances together for their fourth album (see what they did there?), including Moakes' Young Legionnaire producer Alex Newport (who also did the likes of The Mars Volta & At the Drive-In) and an even louder Okereke for a seriously massive album.
If You Like: Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand
Recommended Track: "Octopus"

(PS - Hear new tracks and songs from their indie rock labelmates in our new Frenchkiss Records Premium Channel!)

Other Featured Albums Available This Week [8/21/12]

Dispatch - Circles Around the Sun
DJ Khaled - Kiss The Ring
Yeasayer - Fragrant World
Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti - Mature Themes
JT Hodges - JT Hodges
Dustin Lynch - Dustin Lynch
Ry Cooder - Election Special
Mariah Carey - "Triumphant (single)"
Flyleaf - "New Horizons (single)"
Mayer Hawthorne - "Get Ready (single)"
Matthew Dear - "Earthforms"

Coming Up Next Week [8/28/12]

Slaughterhouse - welcome to: OUR HOUSE
Alanis Morissette - Havoc and Bright Lights
Meek Mill - Dreams and Nightmares
Romeo Santos - Formula Vo. 1 (Deluxe Version)
Dierks Bentley - Country & Cold Cans
Daddy Yankee - Prestige
Art Garfunkel - The Singer
Minus The Bear - Infinity Overhead
TobyMac - Eye On It
Martin Solveig - Smash (Deluxe)
Dan Deacon - America
Wild Nothing - Nocturne
Matthew Dear - Beams
Nick Cave - Lawless: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Blake Shelton - Pure BS - Deluxe Edition
Harry Shearer - Can't Take a Hint
Jim Gaffigan - Mr. Universe
I AM WAR - Outlive You All
Kitten - Cut It Out (EP)
Passenger - All the Little Lights

More PlayStation 3 News...